I am. What I am seeing I don't think is Agent ALT. None of
my hosts
have any similarities to what info I can find on Agent.ALT.
I am only
seeing sid:2007591 fire. I haven't seen any others in this
group of
sigs: sid:2007588, sid:2007589, or sid:2007590. Each
payload is the
same:
Payload Length: 10
000 : 00 01 00 00 02 02 44 01 00 3B
......D..;
All of these are from various banner ad servers. Anyone
else still
seeing these?
On 10/18/07, Jack Pepper <pepperjack afferentsecurity.com> wrote:
> Quoting Matt Jonkman <jonkman jonkmans.com>:
>
> > Can you share a packet?
> >
>
>
> Sure, a couple thousand if you like ....
>
> Agent ALT analyis (for the period 10/15/07 3am -
10/16/07 3am)
> 209.249.142.9 -> 10.10.1.12 TROJAN Win32
Agent.ALT C&C Checkin
> Connection in Progress
> 4.71.104.187 -> 10.40.32.206 TROJAN Win32
Agent.ALT C&C Checkin
> Connection in Progress
> 64.154.81.197 -> 10.40.34.86 TROJAN Win32
Agent.ALT C&C Checkin
> Connection in Progress
> 64.154.81.197 -> 10.70.50.85 TROJAN Win32
Agent.ALT C&C Checkin
> Connection in Progress
> 64.154.82.224 -> 10.40.33.76 TROJAN Win32
Agent.ALT C&C Checkin
> Connection in Progress
> 64.154.82.72 -> 10.40.34.23 TROJAN Win32
Agent.ALT C&C Checkin
> Connection in Progress
> 168.75.68.97 -> 10.40.33.235 TROJAN Win32
Agent.ALT C&C
> Checkin Connection in Progress
>
> so of the 'outside' hosts, what are they?
> 209.249.142.9 -> "Revenue Science
Corporation". Targeted marketing
> firm, sells software to the online marketing industry,
including
> browser helper objects, among many other products.
> 4.71.104.187 -> "QuestionMarket.com" a
known distribution site
> 64.154.81.197 -> "HitBox Server" is a
known "utility service" for counters
> 64.154.82.224 -> Another "HitBox
Server".
> 168.75.68.97 -> "Clear Blue Technology".
Hosting Company. Could be anything.
> 64.154.82.72 -> Another "HitBox
Server".
>
> Let's take it apart, starting with the
"unknown" host at "Clear Blue"
> (168.75.68.97):
> 08:12:34.769889 IP 168.75.68.97.80 >
10.40.33.235.1967: P
> 3140372189:3140372199(10) ack
> 2462837258 win 12600
> 0x0000: 4500 0032 0825 4000 3506 24e2 a84b
4461 E..2.% .5.$..KDa
> 0x0010: 0a28 21eb 0050 07af bb2e 46dd 92cb
ea0a .(!..P....F.....
> 0x0020: 5018 3138 98aa 0000 0001 0000 0202
4401 P.18..........D.
> 0x0030: 003b
.;
> 12:19:58.344071 IP 168.75.68.97.80 >
10.10.1.178.4451: P
> 2859405698:2859405708(10) ack
> 1856371176 win 7560
> 0x0000: 4500 0032 622b 4000 3506 eb32 a84b
4461 E..2b+ .5..2.KDa
> 0x0010: 0a0a 01b2 0050 1163 aa6f 1182 6ea5
f9e8 .....P.c.o..n...
> 0x0020: 5018 1d88 1d60 0000 0001 0000 0202
4401 P....`........D.
> 0x0030: 003b
.;
> 13:32:36.240369 IP 168.75.68.97.80 >
10.40.32.181.4079: P
> 3677760917:3677760927(10) ack
> 383641718 win 11040
> 0x0000: 4500 0032 2e69 4000 3506 ffd3 a84b
4461 E..2.i .5....KDa
> 0x0010: 0a28 20b5 0050 0fef db36 2d95 16dd
e876 .(...P...6-....v
> 0x0020: 5018 2b20 0e7b 0000 0001 0000 0202
4401 P.+..{........D.
> 0x0030: 003b
.;
> 16:39:06.129241 IP 168.75.68.97.80 >
10.40.34.29.3199: P
> 979095712:979095722(10) ack
> 2179211625 win 11040
> 0x0000: 4500 0032 d0fb 4000 3506 5bd9 a84b
4461 E..2.. .5.[..KDa
> 0x0010: 0a28 221d 0050 0c7f 3a5b d0a0 81e4
2169 .("..P..:[....!i
> 0x0020: 5018 2b20 6a59 0000 0001 0000 0202
4401 P.+.jY........D.
> 0x0030: 003b
.;
> 16:39:36.999439 IP 168.75.68.97.80 >
10.40.34.29.3214: P
> 3429252465:3429252475(10) ack
> 2313734872 win 11040
> 0x0000: 4500 0032 933e 4000 3506 9996 a84b
4461 E..2.> .5....KDa
> 0x0010: 0a28 221d 0050 0c8e cc66 3d71 89e8
cad8 .("..P...f=q....
> 0x0020: 5018 2b20 b9fa 0000 0001 0000 0202
4401 P.+...........D.
> 0x0030: 003b
.;
>
> So we do have multiple hosts on the inside network
talking to this
> same address.
>
> Do a nslookup on js.revsci.net:
> js.revsci.net canonical name = js.lb-revsci.net.
> Name: js.lb-revsci.net
> Address: 168.75.68.97
> Name: js.lb-revsci.net
> Address: 206.191.161.97
> Name: js.lb-revsci.net
> Address: 209.249.142.9
> Name: js.lb-revsci.net
> Address: 209.249.142.97
> Name: js.lb-revsci.net
> Address: 38.96.134.241
> The domain "revsci.net" is of course owned
by Revenue Science. This
> host, 168.75.68.97, is a "tracking data"
collection site.
>
>
>
> In this other case, we caught the download of the
browser helper
> object, downloaded from the same site at "clear
blue":
> 14:01:03.659262 IP 10.40.33.22.3736 >
168.75.68.97.80: P
> 3489417517:3489418851(1334) ack
> 3701690791 win 65535
> 0x0000: 4500 055e 0470 4000 7f06 da3f 0a28
2116 E..^.p ....?.(!.
> 0x0010: a84b 4461 0e98 0050 cffc 492d dca3
51a7 .KDa...P..I-..Q.
> 0x0020: 5018 ffff 9fc0 0000 4745 5420 2f63
6f6d P.......GET./com
> 0x0030: 6d6f 6e2f 7063 782e 6a73 3f74 6d70
6c3d mon/pcx.js?tmpl=
> 0x0040: 6164 3326 6373 6964 3d43 3035 3530
3326 ad3&csid=C05503&
> 0x0050: 6b6f 3d32 3030 375f 3130 5f31 355f
5f31 ko=2007_10_15__1
> 0x0060: 2048 5454 502f 312e 310d 0a41 6363
6570 .HTTP/1.1..Accep
> 0x0070: 743a 202a 2f2a 0d0a 5265 6665 7265
723a t:.*/*..Referer:
> 0x0080: 2068 7474 703a 2f2f 7777 772e 6b63
7476 .http://www.kctv
> 0x0090: 352e 636f 6d2f 696e 6465 782e 6874
6d6c 5.com/index.html
> 0x00a0: 0d0a 4163 6365 7074 2d4c 616e 6775
6167 ..Accept-Languag
> 0x00b0: 653a 2065 6e2d 7573 0d0a 4163 6365
7074 e:.en-us..Accept
> 0x00c0: 2d45 6e63 6f64 696e 673a 2067 7a69
702c -Encoding:.gzip,
> 0x00d0: 2064 6566 6c61 7465 0d0a 4966 2d4d
6f64 .deflate..If-Mod
> 0x00e0: 6966 6965 642d 5369 6e63 653a 204d
6f6e ified-Since:.Mon
> 0x00f0: 2c20 3135 204f 6374 2032 3030 3720
3138 ,.15.Oct.2007.18
> 0x0100: 3a34 323a 3132 2047 4d54 0d0a 5573
6572 :42:12.GMT..User
> 0x0110: 2d41 6765 6e74 3a20 4d6f 7a69 6c6c
612f -Agent:.Mozilla/
> 0x0120: 342e 3020 2863 6f6d 7061 7469 626c
653b 4.0.(compatible;
> 0x0130: 204d 5349 4520 362e 303b 2057 696e
646f .MSIE.6.0;.Windo
> 0x0140: 7773 204e 5420 352e 313b 2053 5631
3b20 ws.NT.5.1;.SV1;.
> 0x0150: 4675 6e57 6562 5072 6f64 7563 7473
3b20 FunWebProducts;.
> 0x0160: 2e4e 4554 2043 4c52 2031 2e31 2e34
3332 .NET.CLR.1.1.432
> 0x0170: 323b 202e 4e45 5420 434c 5220 322e
302e 2;..NET.CLR.2.0.
> 0x0180: 3530 3732 3729 0d0a 486f 7374 3a20
6a73 50727)..Host:.js
> 0x0190: 2e72 6576 7363 692e 6e65 740d 0a43
6f6e .revsci.net..Con
> 0x01a0: 6e65 6374 696f 6e3a 204b 6565 702d
416c nection:.Keep-Al
> 0x01b0: 6976 650d 0a43 6f6f 6b69 653a 204e
4554 ive..Cookie:.NET
> 0x01c0: 4944 3031 3d42 7445 4458 7772 4031
5267 ID01=BtEDXwr 1Rg
> 0x01d0: 4141 4472 4a4e 7059 4141 4147 423b
204e AADrJNpYAAAGB;.N
> 0x01e0: 4554 5345 4753 5f43 3035 3530 333d
4642 ETSEGS_C05503=FB
> 0x01f0: 3732 4644 3139 4235 3045 4438 3236
2643 72FD19B50ED826&C
>
> <snip>
>
> 0x0550: 3473 4c30 7864 6754 6566 0d0a 0d0a
4sL0xdgTef....
>
> Look at the 'download' packet, above. The location
called "referrer"
> is where the browser was right before this snapshot
was taken.
> http://www.kctv5.com
/index.html. There are advertisers all over that
> page. Kctv5, being a tv station, makes their living by
selling
> advertising. They would obviously be a normal client
for Revenue
> Science, to make sure they get paid for click throughs
to their
> advertising partners.
>
> to examine the installer code and the actual BHOcode
you can download
> the code from:
> http:/
/js.revsci.net/gateway/gw.js?csid=C05503
> and the part that makes sure the money goes to kctv5:
> http://www.
kctv5.com/js/4230798/script.js
> and the tracking pixel:
> http://pix01.revsci.net/C05503/a3/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/
0/0/noscript.gif
>
>
>
>
>
>
> > Jack Pepper wrote:
> >> Quoting Jack Pepper <pepperjack afferentsecurity.com>:
> >>
> >>>
> >>> The rule for 2007591 is hitting lots of
malware check-ins, and they
> >>> look like good hits.
> >>
> >> The hits do not look like Agent.Alt
infections. They appear to be
> >> counters for the Revenue Science BHO
application.
> >>
> >> Are other people seeing these? I am seeing
these at all of my sites, in
> >> some cases thousands of them.
> >>
> >> jp
> >>
> >>
> >>
------------------------------------------------------------
----
> >> fferent Security Labs:
Isolate/Insulate/Innovate
> >> http://www.afferentse
curity.com
> >>
> >>
_______________________________________________
> >> Bleeding-sigs mailing list
> >> Bleeding-sigs bleedingthreats.net
> >> http://lists.bleedingthreats.net/cgi-bin/
mailman/listinfo/bleeding-sigs
> >
> > --
> > --------------------------------------------
> > Matthew Jonkman
> > Bleeding Edge Threats
> > US Phone 765-429-0398
> > US Fax 312-264-0205
> > AUS Phone 61-42-4157-491
> > AUS Fax 61-29-4750-026
> > http://www.bleedingthr
eats.net
> > --------------------------------------------
> >
> > PGP: http:/
/www.bleedingthreats.com/mattjonkman.asc
> >
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > Bleeding-sigs mailing list
> > Bleeding-sigs bleedingthreats.net
> > http://lists.bleedingthreats.net/cgi-bin/
mailman/listinfo/bleeding-sigs
> >
>
>
>
>
------------------------------------------------------------
----
> fferent Security Labs: Isolate/Insulate/Innovate
> http://www.afferentse
curity.com
>
> _______________________________________________
> Bleeding-sigs mailing list
> Bleeding-sigs bleedingthreats.net
> http://lists.bleedingthreats.net/cgi-bin/
mailman/listinfo/bleeding-sigs
>
--
-dajackman
_______________________________________________
Bleeding-sigs mailing list
Bleeding-sigs bleedingthreats.net
http://lists.bleedingthreats.net/cgi-bin/
mailman/listinfo/bleeding-sigs
|