List Info

Thread: Rép.




Rép.
user name
2006-12-21 00:05:19
No... There is no problem with the mass email blass. They
have a newsletter
which is sent out by a thrid party which specializes in
email marketing. The
only thing is that they use an email from their email domain
as a reply
addresss...

So we were receiving all the bounces.... 



-----Original Message-----
From: David Morton [mailto:mortondadgrmm.net] 
Sent: December 20, 2006 6:08 PM
To: Simon Marcil
Cc: Gary V; maia-usersrenaissoft.com
Subject: Re: [Maia-users] Rép. : Postfix Issue

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1


On Dec 20, 2006, at 3:24 PM, Simon Marcil wrote:

>
> I then tried to connect to the mail server which
postfix was  
> configured to
> relay mail from the abusing domain to. I couldn't the
server was  
> timing out
> since it was overloaded (I'm guessing).
>
> It turns out that all these emails were bounces from a
mass mail  
> out they
> had done.

Red flags are going up all over the place for me here...  Is
this one  
of your own domains that sent out the mass mailing, or is it
the  
victim of a backscatter attack?  Either way it sounds
spammish.   I'm  
not sure whether it's you or them that is being abused...

Here's a good link on backscatter: http://spamlinks.net/pr
event- 
secure-backscatter.htm

The key thing for you to be sure about is that you only
accept mail  
for valid recipients.  Don't just accept all email and then
bounce  
them if it turns out not to be valid.


David Morton
Maia Mailguard http://www.maiamailguard
.com
mortondadgrmm.net



-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.4.5 (Darwin)

iD8DBQFFicJHUy30ODPkzl0RAsDhAKC92SNURQQE2wF5nfVpUfJjgU1SHACg
0Ulb
wabiPEP64SzY6T6KFveTM3w=
=xM6J
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
_______________________________________________
Maia-users mailing list
Maia-usersrenaissoft.com
http://www.renaissoft.com/mailman/listinfo/maia-users
Rép.
user name
2006-12-21 03:40:22
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

Your email is being flagged by spamcop and sorbs:

1.558 	RCVD_IN_BL_SPAMCOP_NET 	Received via a relay in
bl.spamcop.net
1.456 	RCVD_IN_SORBS_WEB 	SORBS: sender is a abuseable web
server

Like I said, red flags are going up; you need to check a few
things...

On Dec 20, 2006, at 6:05 PM, Simon Marcil wrote:

>
> No... There is no problem with the mass email blass.
They have a  
> newsletter
> which is sent out by a thrid party which specializes in
email  
> marketing. The
> only thing is that they use an email from their email
domain as a  
> reply
> addresss...
>
> So we were receiving all the bounces....
>
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: David Morton [mailto:mortondadgrmm.net]
> Sent: December 20, 2006 6:08 PM
> To: Simon Marcil
> Cc: Gary V; maia-usersrenaissoft.com
> Subject: Re: [Maia-users] Rép. : Postfix Issue
>
> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
> Hash: SHA1
>
>
> On Dec 20, 2006, at 3:24 PM, Simon Marcil wrote:
>
>>
>> I then tried to connect to the mail server which
postfix was
>> configured to
>> relay mail from the abusing domain to. I couldn't
the server was
>> timing out
>> since it was overloaded (I'm guessing).
>>
>> It turns out that all these emails were bounces
from a mass mail
>> out they
>> had done.
>
> Red flags are going up all over the place for me
here...  Is this one
> of your own domains that sent out the mass mailing, or
is it the
> victim of a backscatter attack?  Either way it sounds
spammish.   I'm
> not sure whether it's you or them that is being
abused...
>
> Here's a good link on backscatter: http://spamlinks.net/pr
event-
> secure-backscatter.htm
>
> The key thing for you to be sure about is that you only
accept mail
> for valid recipients.  Don't just accept all email and
then bounce
> them if it turns out not to be valid.
>
>
> David Morton
> Maia Mailguard http://www.maiamailguard
.com
> mortondadgrmm.net
>
>
>
> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
> Version: GnuPG v1.4.5 (Darwin)
>
>
iD8DBQFFicJHUy30ODPkzl0RAsDhAKC92SNURQQE2wF5nfVpUfJjgU1SHACg
0Ulb
> wabiPEP64SzY6T6KFveTM3w=
> =xM6J
> -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

David Morton
Maia Mailguard http://www.maiamailguard
.com
mortondadgrmm.net



-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.4.5 (Darwin)

iD8DBQFFigIsUy30ODPkzl0RAn9NAJ92WNKRbgmvr/Z1Jv3jCQ2ZZyGMQQCg
qrJm
49NGqo8S2N01X8a+2X9j0dI=
=+pZc
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
_______________________________________________
Maia-users mailing list
Maia-usersrenaissoft.com
http://www.renaissoft.com/mailman/listinfo/maia-users
Rép. : Postfix Issue
user name
2006-12-21 01:36:01
>>No... There is no problem with the mass email blass.
They have a 
>>newsletter
>>which is sent out by a thrid party which specializes
in email marketing. 
>>The
>>only thing is that they use an email from their
email domain as a reply
>>addresss...
>>
>>So we were receiving all the bounces....
>>

>Red flags are going up all over the place for me here...
 Is this one
>of your own domains that sent out the mass mailing, or
is it the
>victim of a backscatter attack?  Either way it sounds
spammish.   I'm
>not sure whether it's you or them that is being
abused...
>
>Here's a good link on backscatter: http://spamlinks.net/pr
event-
>secure-backscatter.htm
>
>The key thing for you to be sure about is that you only
accept mail
>for valid recipients.  Don't just accept all email and
then bounce
>them if it turns out not to be valid.
>
>David Morton

My messages to the list are being delayed for hours, so if
it appears I say 
the same thing as David here it's just because the scenario
he describes is 
widespread. Is it possible they could use a noreplyexample.com address for 
the mailing and have you do a discard or reject for mail to
that address?

The message could include:
Note: Do not reply to this address, any replies will be
discarded.

Gary V

____________________________________________________________
_____
Type your favorite song.  Get a customized station.  Try MSN
Radio powered 
by Pandora. http://rad
io.msn.com/?icid=T002MSN03A07001


_______________________________________________
Maia-users mailing list
Maia-usersrenaissoft.com
http://www.renaissoft.com/mailman/listinfo/maia-users
[1-3]

about | contact  Other archives ( Real Estate discussion Medical topics )