List Info

Thread: amavisd crashes




amavisd crashes
country flaguser name
United States
2007-11-14 10:47:35
Recently I’ve had amavisd die on several occasions, which
has backed up a ton of email (fortunately most of it spam
☺) into the queue.

Searching the archives indicated that one solution might be
to up the max number of servers. I did this in amavisd.conf
(I'm now up to 8).

But one post indicated I also need to change the max
processes setting in my postfix master.cf file. I'm not sure
which parameter this is.

Is it the -o max_use argument on the smtp-amavis section I
added at the end of master.cf when I set up maia? If not,
where/what is it?


- Mark


_______________________________________________
Maia-users mailing list
Maia-usersrenaissoft.com
http://www.renaissoft.com/mailman/listinfo/maia-users
Re: amavisd crashes
country flaguser name
United States
2007-11-14 11:13:01
Hi Mark,

  Are you doing any kind of mail rejection at the level of
SMTP (rbl,
etc)? If so, then you first need an adequate number of SMTP
listeners
(postfix -> master.cf). I use 50 as this is not a
resource intensive
activity:

smtp      inet  n       -       n       -       50       
smtpd

Then, you will need to optimise amavis to accept as many
simultaneous mail
streams as your resources allow... I use 2, but YMMV....
Spamassassin is
fairly resource intensive and the number of amavis processes
that you
allow is directly related to the number of simultaneous
instances of
spamassassin.

This way, if you are rejecting calls at the SMTP level based
on unknown
upstream user or rbl or some other mechanism, there will be
plenty of SMTP
listeners to deal with this, reducing the quantity of mail
to be scanned
by SpamAssassin. Some people have said that there is little
throughput
gain from amavis processeses more than two, but I haven't
experimented
with it too much....

This is how I reject blatently bogus mail at the SMTP level:

In postfix -> main.cf:

smtpd_client_restrictions = reject_rbl_client
dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net,
reject_rbl_client sbl.spamhaus.org, reject_rbl_client
relays.ordb.org,
reject_rbl_client list.dsbl.org

smtpd_sender_restrictions = check_sender_access
hash:/etc/postfix/sender_
access, reject_non_fqdn_sender, reject_unknown_sender_domain

smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_mynetworks,
reject_unauth_
destination, reject_unauth_pipelining,
reject_unknown_recipient_domain,
reject_unverified_recipient

unverified_recipient_reject_code = 550

Also, the line in postfix -> master.cf:

smtp-amavis     unix    -       -       -       -       4   
  smtp

should match in amavisd.conf:

$max_servers = 4;

If any other admins see an error in my methodology or
config, please feel
free to pipe up. I'm always ready to benefit from the
experience of
others. 

Dave Sims
************************************************************
*************
On Wed, 14 Nov 2007, Mark Olbert wrote:

> Recently I’ve had amavisd die on several occasions,
which has backed up a ton of email (fortunately most of it
spam ☺) into the queue.
> Searching the archives indicated that one solution
might be to up the max number of servers. I did this in
amavisd.conf (I'm now up to 8).
> But one post indicated I also need to change the max
processes setting in my postfix master.cf file. I'm not sure
which parameter this is.
> Is it the -o max_use argument on the smtp-amavis
section I added at the end of master.cf when I set up maia?
If not, where/what is it?
>
> - Mark
>
>
_______________________________________________Maia-users
mailing listMaia-usersrenaissoft.comhttp://www.renaissoft.com/mailman/listinfo/maia-users
>
_______________________________________________
Maia-users mailing list
Maia-usersrenaissoft.com
http://www.renaissoft.com/mailman/listinfo/maia-users
Re: amavisd crashes
country flaguser name
Swaziland
2007-11-15 00:17:29
Hi, I'm having a smiler problem as Mark, here is my master.cf, what confuses me is the;
smtp      inet  n       -       n       -       50        smtpd

Last time I had some help with this problem from this forum this is what they made me do;
smtp      inet  n       -       n       -       -       smtpd -o content_filter=smtp-amavis:[127.0.0.1]:10024
                                                              -o smtpd_client_connection_count_limit=21
As you can see, I dont have any 50/100 in that line, should it be there?
these are my rules, please advise if I anything should be added or modified;


127.0.0.1:10025 inet n  -   n   -   -  smtpd
   -o content_filter=
   -o smtpd_restriction_classes=
   -o smtpd_delay_reject=no
   -o smtpd_client_restrictions=permit_mynetworks,reject
   -o smtpd_helo_restrictions=
   -o smtpd_sender_restrictions=
   -o smtpd_recipient_restrictions=permit_mynetworks,reject

   -o smtpd_data_restrictions=reject_unauth_pipelining
   -o smtpd_end_of_data_restrictions=

   -o mynetworks=127.0.0.0/8
   -o smtpd_error_sleep_time=0
   -o smtpd_soft_error_limit=1001
   -o smtpd_hard_error_limit=1000
   -o smtpd_client_connection_count_limit=0
   -o smtpd_client_connection_rate_limit=0
   -o smtpd_milters=
   -o local_header_rewrite_clients=
   -o local_recipient_maps=
   -o relay_recipient_maps=
   -o receive_override_options=no_header_body_checks,no_unknown_recipient_checks
scache    unix  -       -       n       -       1       scache



smtp-amavis unix -      -       n       -       6       smtp (Same as my amavis.conf)
   -o smtp_data_done_timeout=1200
   -o smtp_send_xforward_command=yes
   -o disable_dns_lookups=yes
   -o smtp_helo_timeout=5
   -o smtp_connect_timeout=5

Thank you







David Sims wrote:
linux.dpsims.com" type="cite">
Hi Mark,
  Are you doing any kind of mail rejection at the level of SMTP (rbl,etc)? If so, then you first need an adequate number of SMTP listeners(postfix -> master.cf). I use 50 as this is not a resource intensiveactivity:
smtp      inet  n       -       n       -       50        smtpd
Then, you will need to optimise amavis to accept as many simultaneous mailstreams as your resources allow... I use 2, but YMMV.... Spamassassin isfairly resource intensive and the number of amavis processes that youallow is directly related to the number of simultaneous instances ofspamassassin.
This way, if you are rejecting calls at the SMTP level based on unknownupstream user or rbl or some other mechanism, there will be plenty of SMTPlisteners to deal with this, reducing the quantity of mail to be scannedby SpamAssassin. Some people have said that there is little throughputgain from amavis processeses more than two, but I haven't experimentedwith it too much....
This is how I reject blatently bogus mail at the SMTP level:
In postfix -> main.cf:
smtpd_client_restrictions = reject_rbl_client dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net,reject_rbl_client sbl.spamhaus.org, reject_rbl_client relays.ordb.org,reject_rbl_client list.dsbl.org
smtpd_sender_restrictions = check_sender_access hash:/etc/postfix/sender_access, reject_non_fqdn_sender, reject_unknown_sender_domain
smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_mynetworks, reject_unauth_destination, reject_unauth_pipelining, reject_unknown_recipient_domain,reject_unverified_recipient
unverified_recipient_reject_code = 550
Also, the line in postfix -> master.cf:
smtp-amavis     unix    -       -       -       -       4      smtp
should match in amavisd.conf:
$max_servers = 4;
If any other admins see an error in my methodology or config, please feelfree to pipe up. I'm always ready to benefit from the experience ofothers. 
Dave Sims*************************************************************************On Wed, 14 Nov 2007, Mark Olbert wrote:
  
Recently I’ve had amavisd die on several occasions, which has backed up a ton of email (fortunately most of it spam ☺) into the queue.> Searching the archives indicated that one solution might be to up the max number of servers. I did this in amavisd.conf (I'm now up to 8).> But one post indicated I also need to change the max processes setting in my postfix master.cf file. I'm not sure which parameter this is.> Is it the -o max_use argument on the smtp-amavis section I added at the end of master.cf when I set up maia? If not, where/what is it?>>; - Mark>> _______________________________________________Maia-users mailing renaissoft.comhttp://www.renaissoft.com/mailman/listinfo/maia-users">listMaia-usersrenaissoft.comhttp://www.renaissoft.com/mailman/listinfo/maia-users>_______________________________________________Maia-users mailing renaissoft.comhttp://www.renaissoft.com/mailman/listinfo/maia-users">listMaia-usersrenaissoft.comhttp://www.renaissoft.com/mailman/listinfo/maia-users
    


  
[1-3]

about | contact  Other archives ( Real Estate discussion Medical topics )