List Info

Thread: multi.surbl.org




multi.surbl.org
user name
2006-10-15 13:04:59
OK Dale, you got me to a agree with you that ;something is wrong with multi.surbl.org  and I also agree that match.com and eHarmony.com got their start via spams.  Match.com & eHarmony are probably making millions at this point.  I'm jealous, but won't do spams.
 
What's the Return Code that surbl is returning for your domain?
2 = comes from sc.surbl.org
4 = comes from ws.surbl.org
8 = comes from phishing data source (labelled as [ph] in multi)
16 = comes from ob.surbl.org
32 = comes from ab.surbl.org
64 = comes from jp data source (labelled as [jp] in multi)
 
and did you join their Announce list yet?
 
To date we've been rejecting any mail listed in multi.surbl.org with a mfilter.rul and there have been no complaints from the customers.  That will probably need to be changed to Friends-Challenges.
 
If the customers only knew what infrastructure it takes to keep their mailboxes clean.... so they can receive those "forward this to all your friends" emails. : (
 
BarryZ
1USA
 
 
----- Original Message -----
Sent: Saturday, October 14, 2006 12:59 PM
Subject: Re: [SurgeMail List] Anyone using uribl.com?

I must slightly disagree.

emails marked with ulti-surbl.org are nowhere near close to 99.9% spam.
They lists URLs that have nothing whatsoever to do with spam or porn. I
know as they have listed one of my domains and refuse to even respond to
me as to their justification as to why it has been listed.

I have (at the moment the main site is down while it is being rebuilt) a
dating site that has been online since 1995. It has never sent any spam
to anyone. Members do not have email addresses at the domain, there is
no porn on the site. But they have listed it solely as it is a gay site.
So they have incorrectly listed the site as a porn site due apparently
to their misguided political beliefs.

So unfortunately I would suggest using caution in rejecting any email
using this service as they are just as bad as some of the RBLs (like
spews) that people on here often complain about.

I have emailed them a few times and to this day they have not responded.
I asked them for their proof/reasoning for listing the site as a porn
site. They will not respond. My site is no more porn than Match.com is,
and yet Match.com does send out spam (I know, I have received spam from
them).

Dale

1usa.com">webmaster1usa.com wrote:
>; Emails marked with multi.surbl.org are 99.9% spams.  Why are you even
> allowing them into the /mbox?
>; Here at 1USA they are rejected using an entry on the mfilter.rul Spam
> Filtering web page.
> If someone complains of not receiving enough spams, the recipient can
> always add particular senders to their whitelist.  We have the
> g_friends_at_rcpt turned on.
> 
> BarryZ
>; 1USA
[1]

about | contact  Other archives ( Real Estate discussion Medical topics )