|
List Info
Thread: allowing mail from a particular domain
|
|
| allowing mail from a particular domain |
  United States |
2007-08-23 17:57:02 |
i have a customer (abc.com) who uses an outside service to
send email
advertising to their opt-in list.
the service (xyz.com) send these email using a from address
of info abc.com but
the mail actually originated from their server.
if one of my customer's folks puts their email address on
the distribution list
for testing purposes, surgemail rejects the delivery to
them, which is totally
understandable.
is there anything i can do in their domain definition to
have mail from xyz.com
received even though it appears to be spoofing abc.com?
david camm
advanced web systems
keller, tx
|
|
| Re: allowing mail from a particular
domain |
  New Zealand |
2007-08-23 18:05:03 |
David Camm wrote:
> i have a customer (abc.com) who uses an outside service
to send email
> advertising to their opt-in list.
>
> the service (xyz.com) send these email using a from
address of
> info abc.com but the mail actually originated from their
server.
>
> if one of my customer's folks puts their email address
on the
> distribution list for testing purposes, surgemail
rejects the delivery
> to them, which is totally understandable.
>
> is there anything i can do in their domain definition
to have mail from
> xyz.com received even though it appears to be spoofing
abc.com?
>
> david camm
> advanced web systems
> keller, tx
>
Hi,
Add xyz's ip address to the SPF record for abc.com.
Regards,
Stuart
--
When replying please quote original message to save time and
always let
us know what OS and version of SurgeMail you are using.
************************************************************
****************
If you wish to communicate with other users and talk about
SurgeMail and
also get news about updates etc then join the SurgeMail
List.
Send an email to surgemail-list-request netwinsite.com with only
"subscribe" in the message body
FAQ - http
://www.netwinsite.com/surgemail/help/faq.htm
************************************************************
****************
|
|
| Re: allowing mail from a particular
domain |
  United States |
2007-08-23 18:09:09 |
we're not doing spf yet....
any other way?
SurgeMail Support wrote:
>
>
> David Camm wrote:
>
>> i have a customer (abc.com) who uses an outside
service to send email
>> advertising to their opt-in list.
>>
>> the service (xyz.com) send these email using a from
address of
>> info abc.com but the mail actually originated
from their server.
>>
>> if one of my customer's folks puts their email
address on the
>> distribution list for testing purposes, surgemail
rejects the delivery
>> to them, which is totally understandable.
>>
>> is there anything i can do in their domain
definition to have mail
>> from xyz.com received even though it appears to be
spoofing abc.com?
>>
>> david camm
>> advanced web systems
>> keller, tx
>>
>
> Hi,
>
> Add xyz's ip address to the SPF record for abc.com.
>
> Regards,
> Stuart
>
>
|
|
| Re: allowing mail from a particular
domain |
  New Zealand |
2007-08-23 18:15:40 |
David Camm wrote:
> we're not doing spf yet....
>
> any other way?
Can you send me the rejection you are getting. I need to
know why it is
being rejected...
Regards,
Stuart
>
> SurgeMail Support wrote:
>
>>
>>
>> David Camm wrote:
>>
>>> i have a customer (abc.com) who uses an outside
service to send email
>>> advertising to their opt-in list.
>>>
>>> the service (xyz.com) send these email using a
from address of
>>> info abc.com but the mail actually originated
from their server.
>>>
>>> if one of my customer's folks puts their email
address on the
>>> distribution list for testing purposes,
surgemail rejects the
>>> delivery to them, which is totally
understandable.
>>>
>>> is there anything i can do in their domain
definition to have mail
>>> from xyz.com received even though it appears to
be spoofing abc.com?
>>>
>>> david camm
>>> advanced web systems
>>> keller, tx
>>>
>>
>> Hi,
>>
>> Add xyz's ip address to the SPF record for
abc.com.
>>
>> Regards,
>> Stuart
>>
>>
>
--
When replying please quote original message to save time and
always let
us know what OS and version of SurgeMail you are using.
************************************************************
****************
If you wish to communicate with other users and talk about
SurgeMail and
also get news about updates etc then join the SurgeMail
List.
Send an email to surgemail-list-request netwinsite.com with only
"subscribe" in the message body
FAQ - http
://www.netwinsite.com/surgemail/help/faq.htm
************************************************************
****************
|
|
| Re: allowing mail from a particular
domain |
  United States |
2007-08-23 18:30:20 |
stuart - i don't have them. i've asked the customer to get
in touch with the
service to ask them for the reject message. the problem. of
course, is that
they never told me WHEN this happened and i'm sure that our
log files are long
overwritten by now.
let me do wome digging and then perhaps we can take this off
line, meaning off
the list.
i do NOT want to waste our good friends and colleagues
valuable time and bandwidth.
david camm
advanced web systems
keller, tx
SurgeMail Support wrote:
> David Camm wrote:
>
>> we're not doing spf yet....
>>
>> any other way?
>
>
> Can you send me the rejection you are getting. I need
to know why it is
> being rejected...
>
> Regards,
> Stuart
>
>>
>> SurgeMail Support wrote:
>>
>>>
>>>
>>> David Camm wrote:
>>>
>>>> i have a customer (abc.com) who uses an
outside service to send
>>>> email advertising to their opt-in list.
>>>>
>>>> the service (xyz.com) send these email
using a from address of
>>>> info abc.com but the mail actually originated
from their server.
>>>>
>>>> if one of my customer's folks puts their
email address on the
>>>> distribution list for testing purposes,
surgemail rejects the
>>>> delivery to them, which is totally
understandable.
>>>>
>>>> is there anything i can do in their domain
definition to have mail
>>>> from xyz.com received even though it
appears to be spoofing abc.com?
>>>>
>>>> david camm
>>>> advanced web systems
>>>> keller, tx
>>>>
>>>
>>> Hi,
>>>
>>> Add xyz's ip address to the SPF record for
abc.com.
>>>
>>> Regards,
>>> Stuart
>>>
>>>
>>
>
>
|
|
| Spam:*****, Re: allowing mail from a
particular domain |
  United States |
2007-08-23 21:30:54 |
|
|
David
Activating SPF in Surgemail is one thing.
Putting a TXT record in your DNS per the rules at http://www.openspf.org/ is something
totally different. All domains should have this in their DNS to prevent
spoofing.
If you CHOOSE to be RESPONSIBLE for this customer's
marketing activities: To authenticate the emails being sent out by the
marketing company, you'd need to add their domain or IP into your SPF TXT record
which goes in the DNS.
The marketing company SHOULD give the customer one of
their own email addresses to use. Marketing companies SHOULD know
better... because SPF has been in place for 4 years now. The marketing
company SHOULD be aware that non-SPF-compliant emails WILL be bounced
or challenged (in most cases, at most major ISPs)... and the way to
get around that is for the marketing company to give their customers an email
address to use in the marketing emails.
If your domain is used in an email without your permission
that does not originate from your IP addresses, that's called Theft of Services
and is a jail time offense.
Personally, I'd clearly separate the blue from the
yellow. If the marketing company is so dumb that they don't offer email
accounts, then my suggestion is for the customer to get a Domain Name somewhere,
then use that email address in the emails.
Surgemail can then pull the emails off that mail server
into the customer's account.
This will hopefully prevent anal admins from blacklisting
your domain name - just because it's listed in the email... which prevents
further problems down the line.
BarryZ
1USA
----- Original Message -----
Sent: Thursday, August 23, 2007 7:09 PM
Subject: Re: [SurgeMail List] allowing mail from a particular
domain
we're not doing spf yet....
any other
way?
SurgeMail Support wrote:
> > > David Camm
wrote: > >> i have a customer (abc.com) who uses an outside
service to send email >> advertising to their opt-in
list. >> >> the service (xyz.com) send these email using a
from address of >> info abc.com">info abc.com but
the mail actually originated from their server. >> >> if one
of my customer's folks puts their email address on the >> distribution
list for testing purposes, surgemail rejects the delivery >> to them,
which is totally understandable. >> >> is there anything i can
do in their domain definition to have mail >> from xyz.com received
even though it appears to be spoofing abc.com? >> >> david
camm >> advanced web systems >> keller, tx >> >
> Hi, > > Add xyz's ip address to the SPF record for
abc.com. > > Regards, > Stuart > >
|
[1-6]
|
|
|
about | contact Other archives ( Real Estate discussion Medical topics )
|