hi suresh
thanks for the info...I was not aware of this...
I have filled in the form...
however we can see that AOL is even blocking IP's from
fixed IP block, of
which we know, that these IPs have never been used before
for sending mails.
we have activated some servers on those IPs for testing
AOL...
so the suspicion is, that AOL is blocking whole ranges..
may be a postmaster of them is on this list....
regards
tom
-----Ursprüngliche Nachricht-----
Von: owner-nanog merit.edu [mailto:owner-nanog merit.edu] Im Auftrag von
Suresh Ramasubramanian
Gesendet: Donnerstag, 27. Juli 2006 14:38
An: Tom Quilling
Cc: nanog merit.edu
Betreff: Re: AOL Mail Problem
What you have run into is called AOL's "second
received line" filtering
If your adsl customer is infected, or someone who had that
IP recently [if a
dynamic IP] is infected and his PC is originating spam and
malware .. AOL
will block any email with that infected IP in the headers.
Simple reason for this .. a lot of malware is getting quite
good at
hijacking Outlook or other MUA on a user's PC [including
smtp auth
credentials if any] and sending out spam through the ISP's
mail relays.
Please sign your IP space for a feedback loop from aol -
http://postmaster
.info.aol.com/fbl/
--srs
On 7/27/06, Tom Quilling <tier1 ncinet.de> wrote:
> We are an ISP in Germany and experience since this
morning, July 27
> 07:00 GMT problems with all mail-in Servers at AOL.
> They seem to refuse mailconnections, giving error
message 554 for no
> reason at all, since our servers are not listed in any
RBL etc..
> We can see, that they extract from the header the
original sender IP
> of a mail, instead of the one from the
MAIL-RELAY-SERVER, as specified in
RFC.
> As these senders are from ADSL IP's, AOL refuses them.
> This is definitely wrong by AOL...
> Does anybody else experience this Problem..
|