What you have run into is called AOL's "second
received line" filtering
If your adsl customer is infected, or someone who had that
IP recently
[if a dynamic IP] is infected and his PC is originating spam
and
malware .. AOL will block any email with that infected IP in
the
headers.
Simple reason for this .. a lot of malware is getting quite
good at
hijacking Outlook or other MUA on a user's PC [including
smtp auth
credentials if any] and sending out spam through the ISP's
mail
relays.
Please sign your IP space for a feedback loop from aol -
http://postmaster
.info.aol.com/fbl/
--srs
On 7/27/06, Tom Quilling <tier1 ncinet.de> wrote:
> We are an ISP in Germany and experience since this
morning, July 27 07:00
> GMT problems with all mail-in Servers at AOL.
> They seem to refuse mailconnections, giving error
message 554 for no reason
> at all, since our servers are not listed in any RBL
etc..
> We can see, that they extract from the header the
original sender IP of a
> mail, instead of the one from the MAIL-RELAY-SERVER, as
specified in RFC.
> As these senders are from ADSL IP's, AOL refuses them.
> This is definitely wrong by AOL...
> Does anybody else experience this Problem..
|