List Info

Thread: Amazon?




Amazon?
user name
2006-08-21 20:51:18
That whois stuff is meaningless.  When are people going to
get it that
it really isn't a "hack".

 

> -----Original Message-----
> From: owner-nanogmerit.edu [mailto:owner-nanogmerit.edu] On 
> Behalf Of Jon R. Kibler
> Sent: Monday, August 21, 2006 1:36 PM
> To: Elijah Savage
> Cc: Brandon Galbraith; nanognanog.org; Steven M.
Bellovin
> Subject: Re: Amazon?
> 
> I am currently in the DC area. It appears that Amazon
came up 
> about 20 minutes ago.
> 
> SANS ISC has a little info on the problem. Quoting from

> http
://isc.sans.org/diary.php?n&storyid=1625 :
> > UPDATE:
> > 
> > Diligent Reader Corwin Grey points out:
> > 
> > "Amazon may be having more than a 'little'
trouble. :/ 
> Check out their whois:
> > 
> > 
> >   Server Name:
AMAZON.COM.IS.N0T.AS.1337.AS.WWW.GULLI.COM
> >   IP Address: 80.190.192.24
> >   Registrar: KEY-SYSTEMS GMBH
> >   Whois Server: whois.rrpproxy.net
> >   Referral URL: http://www.key-systems.net

> > 
> >  <snip>"
> > 
> > Now, amazon.com looks OK from a whois lookup at 
> www.internic.net (record points to Network Solutions)
and 
> from a Network Solutions whois lookup.  But, it looks
like 
> we've got some whois database hijinks out there for
some of 
> the whois servers and the www.amazon.com info.
> > 
> > Reader Sean points out that these gulli folks do
this kind 
> of thing a lot to sites like Amazon.com, Microsoft, and

> others, and these whois hijinks are likely independent
of the 
> back-end problems that Amazon.com appears to be having.
 I agree.
> > 
> > I just now checked, and they seem to be back up...
 so, 
> intermittent problem fixed?  For now...  It's not the
end of 
> the world.
> > 
> > --Ed Skoudis
> > Intelguardians
> 
> 
> 
> Elijah Savage wrote:
> > Thats strange I am not having any issues at all
and I have 
> tested it 
> > from 3 different peering points.
> > 
> > ----- Original Message -----
> > From: Brandon Galbraith <brandon.galbraithgmail.com>
> > To: Steven M. Bellovin <smbcs.columbia.edu>
> > Cc: Jon R. Kibler <Jon.Kibleraset.com>, nanognanog.org
> > Sent: Monday, August 21, 2006 3:42:21 PM GMT-0500
> > Subject: Re: Amazon?
> > 
> > Intermittent application/load balancer issues
perhaps?
> > 
> > -brandon
> > 
> > On 8/21/06, *Steven M. Bellovin* <smbcs.columbia.edu 
> > <mailto:smbcs.columbia.edu>>
wrote:
> > 
> > 
> >     On Mon, 21 Aug 2006 15:21:40 -0400, "Jon
R. Kibler" <
> >     Jon.Kibleraset.com
<mailto:Jon.Kibleraset.com>>
> >     wrote:
> > 
> >      > Hi,
> >      >
> >      > Anyone know what is up with Amazon? They
appear to be down.
> >      >
> >      > Doesn't appear to be a network issue...
tried from 
> two different
> >     ISP's networks.
> >      >
> >     That's odd.  When I try from one path, I get
the same 
> error you get;
> >     when
> >     I try another, it works.  A tcptraceroute
shows that 
> both are ending
> >     up at
> >     the same IP address at Amazon, too.
> > 
> >                     --Steven M. Bellovin,
> >     http://www.cs.columbi
a.edu/~smb 
> > <http://www.cs.c
olumbia.edu/%7Esmb>
> > 
> > 
> > 
> > 
> > --
> > Brandon Galbraith
> > Email: brandon.galbraithgmail.com 
> > <mailto:brandon.galbraithgmail.com>
> > AIM: brandong00
> > Voice: 630.400.6992
> > "A true pirate starts drinking before the
sun hits the 
> yard-arm. Yarrrr. 
> > --thelost"
> > 
> > 
> > 
> > ==================================================
> > Filtered by: TRUSTEM.COM's Email Filtering
Service 
> > http://www.trustem.com/
No Spam. No Viruses. Just Good Clean Email.
> > 
> 
> -- 
> Jon R. Kibler
> Chief Technical Officer
> Advanced Systems Engineering Technology, Inc.
> Charleston, SC  USA
> (843) 849-8214
> 
> 
> 
> 
> 
> ==================================================
> Filtered by: TRUSTEM.COM's Email Filtering Service
> http://www.trustem.com/
> No Spam. No Viruses. Just Good Clean Email.
> 
> 
Amazon?
user name
2006-08-21 20:58:19

On Mon, 21 Aug 2006, Joseph Jackson wrote:

>
> That whois stuff is meaningless.  When are people going
to get it that
> it really isn't a "hack".
>

color me embarassed for sans/isc-handler-on-duty that they
didn't point
out that these are not in anyway linked to 'amazon the
company' so not
relevant to the 'problem' amazon may or may-not have had.
:(

> > SANS ISC has a little info on the problem. Quoting
from
> > http
://isc.sans.org/diary.php?n&storyid=1625 :
Amazon?
user name
2006-08-21 21:52:04
Christopher L. Morrow wrote:
> 
> On Mon, 21 Aug 2006, Joseph Jackson wrote:
> 
> 
>>That whois stuff is meaningless.  When are people
going to get it that
>>it really isn't a "hack".
>>
> 
> 
> color me embarassed for sans/isc-handler-on-duty that
they didn't point
> out that these are not in anyway linked to 'amazon the
company' so not
> relevant to the 'problem' amazon may or may-not have
had. :(

Uh, that is what I get for trying to do 25 things at once. I
should have looked at it more closely before ever forwarding
it to NANOG!

I also guess that ISC realized their bad, because that has
now been deleted from their diary!

I promise to read more carefully before reposting
something!!

Sorry :(

Jon Kibler
-- 
Jon R. Kibler
Chief Technical Officer
Advanced Systems Engineering Technology, Inc.
Charleston, SC  USA
(843) 849-8214





==================================================
Filtered by: TRUSTEM.COM's Email Filtering Service
http://www.trustem.com/
No Spam. No Viruses. Just Good Clean Email.

[1-3]

about | contact  Other archives ( Real Estate discussion Medical topics )