|
List Info
Thread: Have Yahoo! gone pink?
|
|
| Have Yahoo! gone pink? |

|
2006-03-30 09:22:59 |
|
On 3/29/06, Peter Corlett <cabal.org.uk">abuse cabal.org.uk> wrote:
[I'm wearing my personal hat here.]
I'm getting a *flood* of spam coming in from Yahoo! mailservers, both to my personal and work addresses. It seems that Yahoo! don't care. Here's the response to me piping a sample one through Spamcop:
http://abuse.mooli.org.uk/yahoospam
Yahoo claim "After investigation, we have determined that this email message did not originate from the Yahoo! Mail system. It appears that the sender of
this message forged the header information to give the impression that it came from the Yahoo! Mail system."
The spam headers claim otherwise:
Received: from mrout3.yahoo.com
([216.145.54.173]) by relay-1.mail.uksolutions.net with esmtp (Exim 4.50) id 1FJbCW-0002Ag-IV for
uksolutions.co.uk">sales uksolutions.co.uk; Wed, 15 Mar 2006 18:58:29 +0000
As does DNS and whois:
abuse mooli:~$ host 216.145.54.173 173.54.145.216.in-addr.arpa
domain name pointer mrout3.yahoo.com. abuse mooli:~$ host mrout3.yahoo.com mrout3.yahoo.com has address
216.145.54.173 abuse mooli:~$ whois 216.145.54.173
OrgName: Yahoo! Inc. OrgID: YAHOOI-2 Address: 701 First Avenue City: Sunnyvale
StateProv: CA PostalCode: 94089 Country: US [etc]
Doing double-DNS lookups of the IP addresses on other spams also give yahoo.com hostnames, and they're typically in DNSBLs for being sources of
spam and a useless abuse address.
So, which IP blocks shall I null-route then? Or is there anybody here from Yahoo! with a clue? (OK, you can all stop laughing now.) Ew ww.
p4pnet.net is part of a company Yahoo acquired that is still in the process of being integrated. :(
Personally, I'd just null-route the blocks--I'm sure it'll decrease the load on the Internet as a whole while Yahoo works on trying to clean up their
acquisitions. Of course, that's me speaking for myself, and not in any way shape or form speaking for my employer. ^_^;;
There are spam clueful people at Yahoo from the NANAE and anti-spam communities--when stuff like this shows up in public forums, it does get
noticed and passed along. I agree, it would be better if it could garner the right level of attention without being called out in public forums like this, though.
Matt
-- PGP key ID E85DC776 - finger mooli.org.uk">abuse mooli.org.uk for full key
|
[1]
|
|
|
about | contact Other archives ( Real Estate discussion Medical topics )
|