Francoise,
You really succeed with sucking out any joy I feel while
working with
this project. Congratulations.
Ralf's subscription to this group has not yet been accepted,
so I will
paste the reply he sent to your e-mail:
----------------------------------
Hey,
You can read this in the thread but there is a lot of text
there so
maybe you missed it. There is a very simple reason why we
can't take
his work down. Our site works like this: The photographers
upload
photos and we either publish or reject them, to uphold a
quite high
level of quality. We are just like a book or magazine
editor, who
selects photos and publishes them in a newspaper, magazine
or
photobook. If the members had the option to remove all their
work,
they could simply say: "If you don't accept this photo,
I will
remove
all my work from your site". This has happened numerous
times. In
the
long run it would mean that we wouldn't have any quality
check at
all, and would have to accept everything, just like flickr.
If we
allowed one photographer to remove his work, we couldn't
deny it to
anyone else. If you don't want to be on onexposure, that's
perfectly
fine. But then why upload there in the first place?! Just
like it
says in the thread we want everyone to be aware that the
photos will
not be removed. We are not trying to hide this fact in small
print
or
in any other way, that's why it's written in three different
places
on the site. In fact I don't think we can make it much
clearer! It's
fine that the pros and cons of this system is discussed
openly but
accusing us of stealing photos and running an illegitimate
site is
slandering and it's illegal. Please take it back. I'm
studying law
at
the university, I definitely don't want to file a lawsuit
because of
all the hassle, but if it's the only way I will.
Regards, Ralf
--
Ralf Stelander, ralf onexposure.net
Head screener, http://www.onexposure.net/
This e-mail and any attachments may contain confidential
and
privileged information. If you are not the intended
recipient,
please
notify the sender immediately by return e-mail, delete this
e-mail
and destroy any copies. Any dissemination or use of this
information
by a person other than the intended recipient is
unauthorized and
may
be illegal.
----------------
This is my last post in this discussion group.
/ Jacob
On Jun 7, 1:55 pm, Francoise Beguime
<francoisebegu... yahoo.co.uk>
wrote:
> Jajo, Ralf
>
> I have no doubt the law is on your side, but I still
think you should take down Jens's photos if thats what he
wants
>
> Please read the following... they're threatening me
with court action unless I keep quiet...
>
> To: francoisebegu... yahoo.co.uk Subject:
"so called legitimate" From: "Ralf
Stelander" <r... onexposure.net> Add to
Address Book Date: Thu, 7 Jun 2007 15:31:30 +0200
> Hey Francois,
>
> I'm Ralf Stelander, one of the founders of
onexposure.net. In this thread "http://groups.google.com/group/pho
toblogs/browse_thread/thread/281ca1..." you are
suggesting, in public, that onexposure.net is stealing
photos in an illegitimate way. I cite your posts
"....so-called 'legitimate' ) "
and "we all run the risk of having our photo's nicked
by someone dodgy, which makes it even worse when a so-called
'legitimate' site does it." If you are referring to
Jens photos he signed a contract when registering at the
site giving us the right to display his work, there is
nothing illegitimate about this or anything else in this
case. The law's very definition of illegal slandering and
miscrediting of a trademark is to suggest in public that
someone is doing something illegal when in fact they are
not. I have to strongly advise you to remove these posts, or
our legal staff will be forced to take action, and file a
lawsuit in whatever country you live in. Remember that
> you can go to prison for slandering in many countries.
If you immediately remove the posts we will take no further
actions. I also have to remind you that this is a personal
email and that you are not allowed to forward it to anyone
else or make it public in any way.
>
> Regards, Ralf
>
> --
> Ralf Stelander, r... onexposure.net
> Head screener,http://www.onexposure.net/
>
> This e-mail and any attachments may contain
confidential and privileged information. If you are not the
intended recipient, please notify the sender immediately by
return e-mail, delete this e-mail and destroy any copies.
Any dissemination or use of this information by a person
other than the intended recipient is unauthorized and may be
illegal.
>
> ---------------------------------
> To help you stay safe and secure online, we've
developed the all new Yahoo! Security Centre.
--~--~---------~--~----~------------~-------~--~----~
You received this message because you are subscribed to the
Google Groups "Photoblogs" group.
To post to this group, send email to photoblogs googlegroups.com
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to
photoblogs-unsubscribe googlegroups.com
For more options, visit this group at http:
//groups.google.com/group/photoblogs?hl=en
-~----------~----~----~----~------~----~------~--~---
|