List Info

Thread: Fake referrals




Fake referrals
country flaguser name
United States
2007-06-26 06:13:26
Hi

I've noticed a number of other photoblogs have generated
fake
referrals to my site.

I see them in my web stats. But I can't find their link to
my page.
I've also checked the access logs, which only shows the main
url.

Has anyone encountered this? Any ideas on how to block them
or prevent
them from appearing on my access_logs or web stats?

Thanks

Ed


--~--~---------~--~----~------------~-------~--~----~
You received this message because you are subscribed to the
Google Groups "Photoblogs" group.
To post to this group, send email to photoblogsgooglegroups.com
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to
photoblogs-unsubscribegooglegroups.com
For more options, visit this group at http:
//groups.google.com/group/photoblogs?hl=en
-~----------~----~----~----~------~----~------~--~---


Re: Fake referrals
user name
2007-06-26 08:29:41
> I've noticed a number of other photoblogs have
generated fake
> referrals to my site.

It sounds like you may be talking about referer spam. 
Here's a pretty
lengthy and technical rundown of the problem... hopefully it
helps:

http://en.w
ikipedia.org/wiki/Referer_spam

Keep in mind, though, that these kinds of referers could be
created on
accident by people navigating to your site from theirs in
any number
of ways.  (In other words, it may look like referer spam
when it's
really just well-intentioned people clicking pages.)

Also, I've never gone through the trouble of trying to block
this sort
of thing, since I want my stats to reflect any
funny-business that may
be happening.

Cheers,

Brandon

On 6/26/07, sparkleblog <egocknetscape.net> wrote:
>
> Hi
>
> I've noticed a number of other photoblogs have
generated fake
> referrals to my site.
>
> I see them in my web stats. But I can't find their link
to my page.
> I've also checked the access logs, which only shows the
main url.
>
> Has anyone encountered this? Any ideas on how to block
them or prevent
> them from appearing on my access_logs or web stats?
>
> Thanks
>
> Ed
>
>
> >
>


-- 
Brandon Stone
http://www.brandonstone.
com/

--~--~---------~--~----~------------~-------~--~----~
You received this message because you are subscribed to the
Google Groups "Photoblogs" group.
To post to this group, send email to photoblogsgooglegroups.com
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to
photoblogs-unsubscribegooglegroups.com
For more options, visit this group at http:
//groups.google.com/group/photoblogs?hl=en
-~----------~----~----~----~------~----~------~--~---


[1-2]

about | contact  Other archives ( Real Estate discussion Medical topics )