List Info

Thread: Netcraft triggering a false positive




Netcraft triggering a false positive
country flaguser name
United Kingdom
2007-03-31 05:26:19
--------------------------------------------------------
[Fri Mar 30 09:30:17 2007] [error] [client 194.72.238.62]
ModSecurity: 
Warning. Operator EQ match: 0. [id "960008"] [msg
"Request Missing a Host 
Header"] [severity "WARNING"] [uri
"/"] [unique_id 
"rmWrWsPy7C4AABykGm4AAAAM"]
--------------------------------------------------------

That IP is netcraft which I believe is bona fide. Can this
rule be modified 
or something put in to allow 194.72.238.62 to bypass the
rule? 




------------------------------------------------------------
-------------
Take Surveys. Earn Cash. Influence the Future of IT
Join SourceForge.net's Techsay panel and you'll get the
chance to share your
opinions on IT & business topics through brief
surveys-and earn cash
http://www.techsay.com/default.
php?page=join.php&p=sourceforge&CID=DEVDEV
_______________________________________________
mod-security-users mailing list
mod-security-userslists.sourceforge.net
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/mod-
security-users

Re: Netcraft triggering a false positive
country flaguser name
United States
2007-04-01 17:42:52
Hi Jerry,

While such an exception can certainly be made to the Core
Rule Set, some
questions come to mind:

- Why do you want to allow NetCraft in? By allowing others
to learn
about your server without leaving any traces on the server
itself
NetCraft can serve the bad guys. Is there a legitimate
reason to allow
the NetCraft crawler in?

- Assuming we want to allow NetCraft in: it is probably not
the only
one. Do you know about a publicly available white list of IP
addresses
that can be used to exclude the rule?

~ Ofer Shezaf
ModSecurity Core Rule Set project leader

> -----Original Message-----
> From: mod-security-users-bounceslists.sourceforge.net
[mailto:mod-
> security-users-bounceslists.sourceforge.net] On
Behalf Of Jerry
> Sent: Saturday, March 31, 2007 1:26 PM
> To: mod-security-userslists.sourceforge.net
> Subject: [mod-security-users] Netcraft triggering a
false positive
> 
>
--------------------------------------------------------
> [Fri Mar 30 09:30:17 2007] [error] [client
194.72.238.62] ModSecurity:
> Warning. Operator EQ match: 0. [id "960008"]
[msg "Request Missing a
> Host
> Header"] [severity "WARNING"] [uri
"/"] [unique_id
> "rmWrWsPy7C4AABykGm4AAAAM"]
>
--------------------------------------------------------
> 
> That IP is netcraft which I believe is bona fide. Can
this rule be
> modified
> or something put in to allow 194.72.238.62 to bypass
the rule?
> 
> 
> 
> 
>
------------------------------------------------------------
-----------
> --
> Take Surveys. Earn Cash. Influence the Future of IT
> Join SourceForge.net's Techsay panel and you'll get the
chance to
share
> your
> opinions on IT & business topics through brief
surveys-and earn cash
>
http://www.techsay.com/default.ph
p?page=join.php&p=sourceforge&CID=DEVD
> EV
> _______________________________________________
> mod-security-users mailing list
> mod-security-userslists.sourceforge.net
> https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/mod-
security-users

------------------------------------------------------------
-------------
Take Surveys. Earn Cash. Influence the Future of IT
Join SourceForge.net's Techsay panel and you'll get the
chance to share your
opinions on IT & business topics through brief
surveys-and earn cash
http://www.techsay.com/default.
php?page=join.php&p=sourceforge&CID=DEVDEV
_______________________________________________
mod-security-users mailing list
mod-security-userslists.sourceforge.net
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/mod-
security-users

[1-2]

about | contact  Other archives ( Real Estate discussion Medical topics )